top of page
Women's Premiership 21.22.jpg

Trophy Cabinet 

1st Grade Premiers



Kookaburra Cup Premiers








1st Grade T20 Premiers



2014/15 (& Statewide)

2017/18 (& Statewide)

Women's T20 Premiers


Women's One Day Premiers


2nd Grade Premiers








3rd Grade Premiers






4th Grade Premiers


Under 18 T20 Premiers





Under 15 Premiers



TCA Club Championship






South Hobart Sandy Bay Cricket Club 

The South Hobart Sandy Bay Cricket Club was formed at a meeting held at the Travellers Rest Hotel on Thursday 20th August 1987 when members of the South Hobart Cricket Club & the Sandy Bay Cricket Club agreed to amalgamate & become members of the new club.

The Navy in the club's colours comes from Sandy Bay while the Sky Blue comes from South Hobart.

The inaugural President of the club was Mr Peter Murfett with Mr Kevin Wilson being the club's first Secretary. Graeme Hodgman was appointed the club's first coach.

The South Hobart Sandy Bay Cricket Club played it's first game at the start of the 1987/88 TCA season, following the merger of the South Hobart CC and the Sandy Bay CC.


The new club took beautiful Queenborough Oval as it's home ground, where the Sharks continue to play today.


The Sharks have had three players play Test cricket for Australia; George Bailey, Xavier Doherty and Alex Doolan. A countless number of other players have represented Tasmania at First Class level. 


After losing a number of Semi and Grand Finals, the club finally broke through for it's maiden First Grade Premiership in 2015/16, with Second Grade also winning that year. The club then went back to back the following year, again winning both First and Second Grade Premierships. 


The club has won a number of First Grade One Day and Twenty20 Premierships, as well as a number of Second Grade, Third Grade and Under Age Premierships.

South Hobart Cricket Club

The club participated in the Southern Tasmanian Cricket Association competition based around suburban districts when the former ‘club’ competition was discarded in 1905/1906. The small Wentworth Street Ground, home of the SHDCC until 1974, was managed by a local community group. The club had the playing services of C. J. Eady and H. Hale, two very prominent players, but did not win a First Grade Premiership until 1915/1916. It did however enjoy success in the lower grades. The club went into recess along with STCA during World War I and reformed in 1923/1924. In 1929 Ron Morrisby, a junior from Sandford, joined the Club and his emergence as a star batsman coincided with the extensive success in the 1930’s.

The introduction of outer suburban clubs to the TCA competition contributed to the reduction in the playing strength of the club and it was not until 1958/1959 and 1959/1960 that there was further First Grade success. The lower grades achieved occasional success. In 1974 the club moved to the Wellesley Park Ground.


Recognising that ‘club cricket’ was the best way for it to improve its’ performance on the field, SHDCC successfully lobbied for inclusion in 1976/1977. A 1st Grade premiership followed in 1979/1980 as a result of strong recruiting by a very active Committee. The club was in a very sound financial condition, however, this resurgence could not be maintained, principally due to the poor playing surface at Wellesley Park and in 1987/88 the club merged with Sandy Bay District Cricket Club. 

Sandy Bay Cricket Club

The early 1960’s was a time when Lower Queenborough had a turf wicket running East/West and Sandy Bay Cricket Club practiced in the corner nearest Sandy Bay Road opposite to the Service Station. The nets were rather primitive and a lot of time was spent going into the Davies’ property to recover errant balls. Our changerooms were in a former Church Hall up near Nelson Road. The Ground which was used by the City Association was a different configuration to what it is today with a large area that ran from the present entrance to halfway down the length of the ground jutting in from Nelson Road.

Queenborough Oval was our home ground and very different to today. The Palfreyman Stand didn’t exist and the change rooms which were located close to the eastern end were rather rustic timber buildings. The club didn’t enjoy great success but we had the best State player never to represent Australia in Brian Patterson playing First Grade. Also in the side was former West Australian opener Gerry Connor. The side was captained by Geoff Burrows with brother Ian, Bruce Denne, Ron Stone and Harry Ward. Opening the bowling with Harry was Barry Beckett who with Brian Patterson also played with Sandy Bay Football Club Reserves.


Success finally came in the 64/65 season when I was a member of the Sandy Bay side that defeated North Hobart at the TCA. The Game was memorable for the fact that umpire Jim Stevens no-balled Garry Brakey for throwing and he took no further part in the match. The side included Geoff and Ian Burrows, Brian Patterson, Graeme Mansfield, Leigh Batchelor, Ben Wignall, Bill Butler, Kerry Flint, Neville Rist, Garry Roberts and Terry Bowes. The club had to wait a further 16 seasons before they again tasted First Grade success. In 1980/81 they defeated South Hobart, a club they eventually merged with in 1986/87.


Second Grade under the captaincy of Wayne Anning were back to back winners in 1973/74 by one run against Glenorchy and 1974/75 against Kingborough where they won outright. Third Grade tasted success with back to back titles in 1975/76 and 1976/77

On the 17th August 1976, the club celebrated their Golden Anniversary which was held at what was then known as The Bay Inn (formerly Beach House Hotel), now Beach House Apartments. A combined celebration /AGM, it was attended by 60 members and guests including such luminaries as Keith Miller and Alan Davidson. A signed record of those in attendance has been kept in storage.


Sandy Bay players who also represented the State were Brian Patterson, Jim Wilkinson, Kerry Flint, Ian Burrows, Stuart Saunders. Overseas players and coaches to join the club were Tony King and David Hughes. Two Tasmanian players to coach the club were Graeme Farrell and Graeme Hodgman. Players that left to coach other clubs were Brian Patterson, Ian Burrows and Graeme Mansfield. Other identities to play for the club were former TFL umpire Cyril Lavelle.


Ian Pook (Life Member)

Women's Premiership 21.22.jpg

Club MVP Awards

Adam Polkinghorne Medal
First Grade MVP

2011/12 - Matt Johnston
2012/13 - Timm van der Gugten
2013/14 - Hamish Kingston
2014/15 - Timm van der Gugten
2015/16 - George Bailey & Matt Clark
2016/17 - Sean Willis 
2017/18 - Hamish Kingston & Sean Willis 
2018/19 - Kyle Wisniewski
2019/20 -
Sean Willis
2020/21 - Alex Doolan 
2021/22 - Cameron Valente 
2022/23 - Tom Andrews

Women's MVP

2016/17 - Linsey da Costa
017/18 - Ange Green
2018/19 - Beth Dodd
2019/20 - Ange Green
20120/21 - Ange Green
2021/22 - Sarah Breckweg
2022/23 - Tayla Wigg

Samuel Paske Medal
Second Grade MVP

2011/12 - Samuel Paske
2012/13 - Samuel Paske
2013/14 - Ryan Fenning
2014/15 - George Woolley
2015/16 - George Woolley
2016/17 - Travis Little & Alex Quinn  
2017/18 - Will Christian
2018/19 - Mark Brazendale
2019/20 - Jack Bowerman
2020/21 - Jack Bowerman
2021/22 - Jack Bowerman
2022/23 - Jack Bowerman

Life Members

Nick Allanby

Michael Allen


Mark Allie

Steven Allie


Wayne Anning

Chris Baker

Kevin Connor


Pat Conway

Alistair (Al) Downie

Ron Linton


James (Darby) Munro


Peter Murfett

Brent Palfreyman

Brian Patterson

Adam Polkinghorne

Ian Pook


Stuart Saunders

Geoff Summers


Michael Summers


Ben Targett

David Townley


Reg Tulk


Gavin White


Kevin Wilson


SHSB Statistics 

Most Club Matches

268 - W.Thompson

241 - H.Nichols

234 - M.Clark

229 - H.Kingston

222 - S.Martin

219 - S.Willis

214 - D.Townley

197 - T.Little

179 - T.Cannon

160 - S.Paske

bottom of page